The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Delete an encryption key

Prev Next

You can delete an encryption key when it is no longer active.

You must deactivate an encryption key before you can delete it.

Caution

Files remain encrypted even if a key has been removed from all policies. Files that are already encrypted with a deleted key are inaccessible and can't be deleted from Trellix FRP systems.

  1. Click Menu → Data Protection → FRP keys.

  2. Select the keys to delete, then click Actions | Delete Keys.

  3. Click OK.

The keys are deleted and any files encrypted with those keys are no longer accessible.