The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Enable automatic booting to remove the Preboot Authentication

Prev Next

The Drive Encryption pre-boot logon environment allows you to select a logon method and to require authentication credentials such as user name and password.

If the user provides the correct authentication details, the Drive Encryption boot code starts the crypt driver in memory and boots the original operating system of the protected system.

Enabling automatic booting removes the pre-boot authentication from the client system.

Note

If you enable this option without requiring the use of TPM, Drive Encryption doesn't protect the data on the drive when it is not in use, because unauthorized users can boot the system.

Task

  1. Click Menu → Systems → System Tree, then select a group from the System Tree.

  2. Select a system, then click Actions → Agent → Modify Policies on a Single System to open the Policy Assignment page for that system.

  3. From the Product drop-down list, select Drive Encryption 8.x. The policy categories under Drive Encryption display the system's assigned policy.

  4. Select the Product Settings policy category, then click Edit Assignments to open the Product Settings page.

  5. If the policy is inherited, select Break inheritance and assign the policy and settings below next to Inherit from.

  6. From the Assigned Policy drop-down list, select the policy, then click Edit Policy to open the Policy Settings page.

    From this page, you can edit the selected policy, or create a new policy.

  7. From the Log On tab, select Enable automatic booting under the Drive Encryption pane to enable the pre-boot environment.

    A security warning This will remove the pre-boot authentication. Are you sure? appears.

  8. Click Yes to enable the automatic booting.

  9. Set the expiration date and time for the automatic booting, if required.

  10. Click Save on the Policy Settings page, then click Save on the Product Settings page.

  11. Send an agent wake-up call.

    Note

    If password synchronization is in use, enabling autoboot for any period of time can cause DE user credentials to go out of sync with Windows user credentials. Therefore, it is recommended to enable "Password synchronization with autoboot enabled". For more details, see Password synchronization with autoboot enabled.