The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Enable or disable the administrator recovery functionality

Prev Next

The client system prompts for authentication on the preboot logon page to access the system. When a user forgets the password, is disabled in the Active Directory, or loses the token, the user can't log on to the system.

Resetting the user’s password, unlocking the disabled user, replacing a lost logon token, and performing machine recovery require a challenge and response procedure. The users must start their system and click Recovery on the Drive Encryption preboot logon page. This option needs to be enabled on the ePO - On-prem server before performing this task on the client systems.

Use ePO - On-prem to enable or disable the administrator (system and user) recovery functionality on the client computer.

Task
  1. Click Menu → Systems → System Tree, then select a group from the System Tree.

  2. Select a system, then click Actions → Agent → Modify Policies on a Single System to open the Policy Assignment page for that system.

  3. From the Product drop-down list, select Drive Encryption 7.x. The policy categories under Drive Encryption display the system's assigned policy.

  4. Select the Product Settings policy category, then click Edit Assignments to open the Product Settings page.

  5. If the policy is inherited, select Break inheritance and assign the policy and settings below next to Inherit from.

  6. From the Assigned policy drop-down list, select a product setting policy, then click Edit Policy to open the policy Product Settings page.

    From this page, you can edit the selected policy, or create a new policy.

  7. On the Recovery tab, enable or disable the system recovery functionality.

  8. From the Key size drop-down list, select the required recovery key size, then enter the message to appear on the recovery page.

  9. Click Save on the Product Settings page.

  10. Send an agent wake-up call.