The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Product Settings Policy — Recovery tab

Prev Next

The Recovery tab under the Product Settings Policy allows you to define the recovery settings for the Product Settings Policy of Drive Encryption.

Option

Definition

Enabled

The Recovery option is enabled by default. This activates the Administrator Recovery option in the client system.

Administrator recovery

  • Key size — The recovery key size options. The recovery Response Code size depends on this recovery key size. This does not affect the size of the challenge code.

    • Low — A recovery key size that creates a short Response Code for the recovery.

    • Medium — A recovery key size that creates a medium size Response Code for the recovery.

    • High — A recovery key size that creates a lengthy Response Code for the recovery.

    • Full — A recovery key size that creates a Response Code, with the maximum number of characters, for the recovery.

  • Message — Displays a text message when you select Recovery. This can include information such as your help desk contact details.

Self-recovery

Allow users to re-enroll self-recovery information at PBA — Allows the client user's self-recovery details can be reset. The user must then re-enroll their self-recovery details with new self-recovery answers.

Note

Before resetting the self-recovery questions on the client system, make sure that you have enabled the Enable Self Recovery option under User Based Policy | Self-recovery.

When this option is enabled, the Pre-Boot Authentication (user name) screen includes the Reset self-recovery option. On selecting Reset self-recovery , the user is prompted for a password, then self-recovery enrollment.

Note

Only initialized users can reset their self-recovery details.

Duplicate

Duplicates or copies the policy with a different name and this can be assigned to a different user.

Save

Saves the product settings policy of Drive Encryption.

Cancel

Exits the current page.