--- title: "Trellix DLP Endpoint client rollback  instructions" slug: "roll-back-trellix-dlp-endpoint-client-software" updated: 2026-11-04T17:38:25Z published: 2026-11-04T17:38:25Z canonical: "docs.trellix.com/roll-back-trellix-dlp-endpoint-client-software" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.trellix.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Trellix DLP Endpoint client rollback  instructions To rollback Trellix DLP Endpoint to an earlier version, remove the current client software completely from endpoints. Then deploy the earlier version. You cannot perform direct downgrades by installing an earlier version over a newer version. Trellix DLP Endpoint client software cannot interoperate with an earlier Trellix ePO extension. Ensure your Trellix ePO extension version is equal to or later than the client version you deploy. > [!NOTE] > Note > > See the release notes of the Trellix DLP Agent version you deploy to verify supported extension version. ## Remove and reinstall the client software 1. In Trellix ePO, select **Menu** → **Data Protection** → **DLP Settings** → **Backup & Restore.** 2. Select **Backup to file** to save your current policies and configurations. 3. Remove the current client software version from target endpoints by using a **Product Deployment** task in Trellix ePO or the Endpoint Product Removal (EPR) tool. 4. Verify that the earlier client package is checked into your Trellix ePO repository. 5. Create a **Product Deployment** client task in Trellix ePO to deploy the earlier version. 6. Run the task to install the software on target endpoints. 7. Send an **Agent Wake-Up** call to the endpoints to enforce deployment and apply policies. ## Verify extension interoperability and restore policies 1. Verify the Trellix ePO extension version. 2. Ensure the Trellix ePO extension version is equal to or later than the target client version. 3. Select **Menu** → **Data Protection** → **DLP Settings** → **Backup & Restore.** 4. Select **Restore from file.** 5. Select the saved .backup file. 6. Select **Restore.** > [!WARNING] > Caution > > Restoring a backup file deletes existing policy information. Back up your current policy data before you proceed.