The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

User Based Policies — Password tab

Prev Next

The Password tab under the User Based Policies allows you to change and manage the user's password in the client system.

Option

Definition

Default password

Change default password — The default password is 1234567, if the administrator changes the default password, then the newly set password will be the new default password for this policy under the User Based Policy category.

  • Do not prompt for default password — Setting this option skips the default password entry and immediately asks the user to enter an encryption password.

Password change

  • Enable password history__changes (1-100) — This keeps track of the specified number of previous passwords set by the user and does not allow the user to set the same passwords again.

  • Prevent change — This option prevents the user from changing the password.

    • Require change after__days (1-366) — This specifies the number of days after which the system prompts the user to change the password.

    • Warn user__days before password expires (0-30) — This specifies the number of days before which the system prompts the user with a warning message about the number of days left for the password expiry.

Incorrect passwords

  • Timeout password entry after__invalid attempts (3-20) — This option specifies the number of invalid password entries after which the system times out the password attempts.

    • Maximum disable time__minutes (1-64) — This specifies the maximum timeout duration for the timeout password entry.

  • Invalidate password after__invalid attempts (3-100) — This specifies the number of attempts a user can make before the password becomes invalid.

Allow showing of password

Enable this option to display the password of the user during authentication.

Duplicate

Duplicates or copies the policy with a different name and this can be assigned to a different user.

Save

Saves the user based policy of Drive Encryption.

Cancel

Exits the current page.