The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Database backup and restore introduction

Prev Next

You can back up, restore, and delete the appliance configuration and data. You can restore a database from a previous backup. Backup files can be deleted to free space for new backups. Both Endpoint Security (HX) and the DMZ server (HXD) can be backed up and restored.

You can control what data is backed up using one of the following profiles:

  • config—Backs up the configuration database, which stores appliance configuration settings.

  • config+fedb—Backs up the configuration database, Trellix appliance database, and appliance-specific data.

  • fedb—Backs up the Trellix appliance database.

  • full—Backs up the configuration database, Trellix appliance database, appliance-specific data, and detected data (malware, alerts, reports, videos, and so on). All detected data (except Trellix proprietary data) is backed up with this profile.

Note

License keys are not included in the backup. You must reinstall the license keys separately. Network settings can be restored.

If you do not have enough space for a full back up of your Endpoint Security (HX) appliance on a local or remote destination, back it up to a device attached via the USB port.

In addition, enable quiesce mode forEndpoint Security (HX) server before you perform a restore operation. See Enabling and disabling Endpoint Security server quiesce mode . Disable quiesce mode when the restore operation is complete.