The Users & Roles screen allows administrators to provision local user accounts and assign specific security roles. Assigning roles ensures compliance with the principle of least privilege (PoLP) and separation of duties.
The page has two sections:
Users — Lists user accounts, their assigned roles, status, and authentication method. The Users table provides Filter, Actions, and Refresh controls. By default, the users are sorted alphabetically by their user name.
Roles — Lists the roles available in the tenant, who created each role, the number of assigned users, and when the role was last modified. The Roles table lists Trellix-created roles first, followed by custom roles, with each group sorted alphabetically by role name.
Add a user
Log in to Trellix Wise™ for Private Cloud.
Go to Settings > Users > Users & Roles.
Select Add User.
Enter the email address in the Username field.
Separate multiple email addresses with a comma and a space.
Select the access level from the Role menu.
Select Add.
The system sends an email with an initial password to the user.
Configure custom roles
Role permissions are organized into categories based on areas, such as Investigations and Hunting. Each category contains individual permissions that define what users assigned to the
role can do. You can select individual permissions or all permissions in a category to define the scope of a role. For details, see Trellix Wise™ for Private Cloud roles.
Create, edit, or delete custom roles and assign permissions.
Go to Settings > Users > Users & Roles.
In the Roles table, choose an action:
To create a role, select Add Role. Enter a Role name. Select the required permissions under Permission. Select Add.
To edit a custom role, select the row menu and select Edit Role. Change the Role name or adjust permissions. Select Update.
To delete a custom role, remove the role from assigned users first. Select the row menu and select Delete Role. Review the confirmation and select Delete.
Configure users
Create a new user account, change assigned roles, or permanently disable an account.
Go to Settings > Users > Users & Roles.
Perform one of the following actions:
Add a user: Select Add User. Enter one or more Username values. You can search for an existing username or enter multiple values separated by a comma and a space. Enter one or more Role values, then select Add.
Edit a user: Select the menu at the end of the user row in the Users table. Select the option that opens the Edit User dialog. Add or remove Role values, then select Update.
Disable account: Select the menu at the end of the user row in the Users table. Select Disable Account. Review and select Disable.
Delete a user: Select the menu at the end of the user row in the Users table. Select the option that opens the Delete User dialog. Review the warning stating the user is permanently disabled, then select Delete.