Prerequisite: Make sure that you have configured at least one or more Client Profiles on the NI appliance using the NI CLI. For more information on how to configure a Client Profile on NI, refer to the topic Create a Client Profile on the NI CLI.
Perform the following steps to delete a Client Profile on the NI CLI.
Log into the NI CLI using a terminal window or SSH client. Enter the privileged mode and then the configuration mode. For detailed information on how to enable the privileged and configuration mode, follow steps 1 - 4 in the topic Create a Client Profile on the NI CLI.
The prompt changes to
npadmin@hostname(config)#on the terminal indicating that configuration mode is enabled.Type
client-profileat the terminal and press Enter.the following Client Profile configuration options are displayed in the
Profile(s)page on the terminal.Note
If you already have one or more Client Profiles configured on the NI appliance, the prompt will display the names of the Client Profiles under the
Profile(s)page in ascending numerical order starting with value 0.Profile(s) ---------------------------------------- 0) IPS_Profile_SanJose 1) IPS_Profile_SantaClara 2) IPS_Profile ---------------------------------------- A) Add Profile #) Edit/Delete Profile Q) Exit ---------------------------------------- Enter your choice:
To delete any Client Profile, enter the numeric value assigned that Profile in the
Profile(s)page and the press Enter. In the example above, if you wish to delete the Client Profile namedIPS_Profile, you need to enter2in theEnter your choicefield and then press Enter.Edit/Delete Profile <Profile name>page is displayed.Edit/Delete Profile IPS_Profile ---------------------------------------- 1. Name : IPS_Profile 2. L7 Metadata : ['enabled':True,'event-types':30(count)] 3. Alerts : ['enabled':True,'severity-threshold':High] ---------------------------------------- #. Edit profile field D. Delete the profile X. Save and Return C. Cancel and Return ---------------------------------------- Enter your choice:
Type
Dand then press Enter to delete the Client Profile.Enter Y confirm the deletion of the Client Profile.
Are you sure you want to delete this profile?(Y/N) yThe Client Profile is deleted and you are redirected back to the
Profile(s)page. TypeQand press Enter to exit theProfile(s)page.Important
A Client Profile that has been already been mapped to the Client Group cannot be deleted. Any attempt of deletion shows the following error message:
{"status":"failed","message":"client profile associated with group, cannot delete"}Press enter to exitIn such scenarios, you need to disassociate the required Client Profile from the Client Group and then follow the above-mentioned steps to delete it on the NI CLI.