The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

User role assignment

Prev Next

The roles such as super user, restricted user, and operator roles are the same for both the Central Manager and the Manager.

The Central Manager acts as a parent domain for every Manager. User roles which are defined at the Central Manager level can be used at the Manager level and will have the same privileges as defined at the Central Manager level.

It is possible to upgrade the role of a Central Manager user at an individual Manager level.

For example, an operator role has been assigned to a user at the Central Manager level. After synchronization, at the Manager level, the role is edited to a Super user. The user now has an operator role at the Central Manager as well as other Managers, but has a Super user role in a single Manager. If the operator uses the single sign-on option, the operator has the operator rights for that Manager, but if the operator logs onto that Manager directly, the operator has Super user rights.

The prefix "Central Manager" is added to the global user to distinguish the role from the Manager user role.

Overriding users with the same name

There can be two users created with the same name, one in the Central Manager and another in the Manager. If their passwords are same, then the Manager will let the user log onto either.

Note

If two users with the same name, user1, are created at Central Manager and Manager respectively, then during synchronization, the role defined for user1 at the Central Manager level will be inherited by the user1 at the Manager level.