The new docs.trellix.com features a modernized UI and AI-powered conversational search. Content is currently available in English, with additional languages launching in early November 2026. We hope you enjoy the updated experience.

Delete a Client Group on the NI CLI

Prev Next

Perform the following steps to delete a Client Group on the NI CLI.

  1. Log into the NI CLI using a terminal window or SSH client. Enter the privileged mode and then the configuration mode. For detailed information on how to enable the privileged and configuration mode, follow steps 1 - 4 in the topic Create a Client Group on the NI CLI.

    The prompt changes to npadmin@hostname(config)# on the terminal indicating that configuration mode is enabled.

  2. Type client-group at the terminal and press Enter.

    the following Client Group configuration options are displayed in the Group(s) page on the terminal.

    Note

    If you already have one or more Client Groups configured on the NI appliance, the prompt will display the names of all Client Groups under the Group(s) page in ascending numerical order starting with value 0.

    Group(s)            Page 1/1
    ----------------------------------------
    
     0) IPSGroup_SantaClara
     1) IPSGroup_SanJose
     2) IPS_Group
    
    ----------------------------------------
    
    A) Add Group
    #) Edit/Delete Group
    Q) Exit
    
    ----------------------------------------
    
    Enter your choice:
    
    
  3. To delete any Client Group, enter the numeric value assigned that Group in the Group(s) page and the press Enter. In the example above, if you wish to delete the Client Group named IPSGroup_SantaClara, you need to enter 0 in the Enter your choice field and then press Enter.

    The Client Group specifications are displayed on the terminal.

    Group:
    
    Token :  a15a2efe0676defe196034f50000aea9
    ----------------------------------------
    
    1. Name :  IPSGroup_SantaClara
    2. Profile :  IPS_Profile_SC
    3. Poll Interval(mins) :  30
    4. Flow WhiteList(count) :  0
    5. Metadata Engines :  ['data-exfill']
    6. Home Network(count)  :  0
    7. PX Host(count) :  1
    ----------------------------------------
    
    #. Edit group field
    D. Delete the group
    X. Save and Return
    C. Cancel and Return
    Enter your choice:
    
    
  4. Now, type D and then press Enter to delete the Client Group.

  5. Enter Y confirm the deletion of the Client Group.

    Are you sure you want to delete this group?(Y/N) y

  6. The Client Group is deleted and the following message is displayed.

    Deleted group successfully
    Please enter to exit.
    

    .

    Pressing Enter redirects you back to the Group(s) page.